Dreadfarm South Africa

Dreadfarm
South Africa

I’d like you to meet a dear friend: This is Lemos from South Africa. He lives in Mdumbi on the Wild Coast. When I travelled through South Africa two years ago, I came to one of the most beautiful places on earth and stayed there for a whole month.  Lemos and his family welcomed me so warmly and to give back to them, I taught Lemos how to make dreadlocks.

Dreadlocks in South Africa Mdumbi
dreadlock project in south africa

There are many Rastas in the area, but nobody really knew how to take care of them. The journey to the next city is long and expensive, only a few people own a car and hardly anyone can afford to get their locks fixed. It wasn’t about making the world a better place, but about giving a person and a family a perspective.  Lemos came and learned with pleasure how to make dreads.

I also learned a lot there myself. It felt like nearly half the village had gotten our dreadlocks and so did surfers and backpackers travelling through. I noticed that with a few small adjustments my technique can easily be applied to African hair.

Even when I returned to Mdumbi a year later, I could see that he is still busy doing Dreads, which made me very happy. I am already looking forward to our next meeting.

How can you support this project?

In my dreadshop Dreadkult.de there is a „surprise Dread jewellery set“ available for purchase which is equipped with dread beads from South Africa and other treasures of my collection. The proceeds will go to Lemos and the expansion of the Dreadfarm South Africa.

to the shop ▹

Of course you can also combine your surfing holiday in Mdumbi, South Africa with a visit to Lemos 🙂

Dreadfarm Südafrika

Hier
möchte ich euch einen Herzensmensch von mir vorstellen.

Dreadlocks in South Africa Mdumbi
dreadlock project in south africa

Das ist Lemos aus Südafrika. Er lebt in Mdumbi an der Wild Coast. Als ich auf meiner Reise vor zwei Jahren durch Südafrika unterwegs war, bin ich an einen der für mich schönsten Flecken dieser Erde gekommen und dort für einen ganzen Monat hängen geblieben. Lemos und seine Familie haben mich so herzlich aufgenommen und um etwas zurück zu geben, habe ich Lemos beigebracht wie man sich um Dreadlocks kümmert.

Es gibt zahlreiche Rastas, doch niemand wusste dort wie man sie pflegt und häkelt. Die Fahrt in die nächste Stadt ist weit und teuer, die wenigsten besitzen ein Auto und das nachhäkeln kann sich kaum jemand leisten. Es ging nicht darum die Welt zu verbessern, aber einem Mensch und damit einer Familie eine Perspektive zu geben. Lemos kam und lernte mit Vergnügen wie man Dreads macht.

Auch ich konnte dort viel lernen. Wir haben gefühlt dem halben Dorf Dreadlocks verpasst und reisenden Surfen und Backpackern ihre Mähnen repariert. Ich habe gemerkt, dass sich meine Technik, mit ein paar kleinen Anpassungen, wunderbar auf afrikanisches Haar anwenden lässt.

Auch als ich dieses Jahr wieder dort war konnte ich sehen, dass er noch fleißig dabei ist, was mich sehr gefreut hat. Ich freue mich schon auf unsere nächste Begegnung.

Wie kannst du dieses Projekt unterstützen?

In meinem Dreadshop Dreadkult.de gibt es ein Überraschungs-Dreadschmuck-Set das mit Dreadperlen aus Südafrika und anderen Schätzen meiner Sammlung bestückt ist. Der Erlös soll Lemos und der Erweiterung der Dreadfarm Südafrika zu gute kommen.

Hier gehts zum Shop ▹

Natürlich könnt ihr auch euren Surfurlaub in Mdumbi, Südafrika mit einem Besuch bei Lemos kombinieren. 😉

Entstehung der Dreadfarm in Südafrika.